RL logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

RL Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • No numeric RL passing score, question count, or section threshold has been verified from current AAPL sources.
  • The RL examination is a take-home, self-study learning examination supplied only after Certification Committee approval.
  • You have 45 days from dispatch to return it; that is a submission window, not a timed seat.
  • There is no separate exam registration or exam fee; the application fee is USD 150.

The Short Answer: No Published Passing Score

Searching for "RL passing score" usually means looking for a number: a percentage, a scaled score, a cut line. For the Registered Landman credential offered by the American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL), that number has not been established in any source we could verify. No current RL question count, no numeric section threshold, and no published scoring formula appear on the AAPL pages that describe the credential.

That is not an oversight on your part. It reflects how the credential is built. The RL examination is a take-home learning examination, and AAPL's public materials describe the process and logistics (eligibility, fees, the return window) without publishing a numeric cut score. Any site that gives you a precise RL percentage is either guessing or importing a figure from a different credential.

Why this matters: Several professional credentials share the "RL" abbreviation, and some publish exact passing scores, fixed seat times, and proctored delivery. None of those facts belong to Registered Landman. On this site, RL means the AAPL Registered Landman credential and nothing else, so we will not quote a number we cannot source.

If you want the broader picture of how difficult the credential is, see our difficulty guide for the RL exam. For what the data does and does not show about outcomes, read RL Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

What the Take-Home Format Tells You About "Passing"

The format itself changes how you should think about a passing score. A proctored, timed exam is built around a cut line you either clear or miss in one sitting. The RL examination works differently, and understanding the difference is the most useful thing you can take from this article.

A learning examination, not a seat-time test

According to AAPL's current Testing and FAQ pages, once the Certification Committee approves your application, AAPL supplies a take-home study guide and a learning examination. You complete it on your own schedule and return it within 45 days of dispatch. There is no separate examination registration step and no additional exam fee.

The 45 days is a submission window. It is not a two-hour clock, not a proctored appointment, and not a testing-center booking. If you have read about timed, remotely proctored certification exams elsewhere, set those expectations aside; that delivery model has not been established for RL.

What "passing" realistically means here

Because the exam is open-materials and self-paced, the practical challenge is not memorizing under pressure. It is producing complete, accurate, well-reasoned answers using the guide and your own working knowledge of landwork. The committee's expectation is that an approved applicant, someone already doing current landwork, can demonstrate competence. How answers are evaluated, and by what threshold, is not publicly specified.

QuestionRL (Registered Landman)
Published numeric passing scoreNot verified
Delivery formatTake-home, self-study learning examination
Time limit45 days to return after dispatch (a submission window)
Separate exam feeNone
Question countNot verified
Section thresholds or weightsNot verified

What Is Verified and What Is Not

Being precise about the evidence is the honest way to answer a passing-score question. Here is where things stand.

Confirmed from current AAPL pages

  • An active RL take-home, self-study learning examination exists and is supplied after application approval.
  • The return window is 45 days from dispatch.
  • No additional exam fee applies beyond the application.
  • Current landwork descriptions at AAPL cover property and mineral rights, agreements, leases, ownership and title work, and professional ethics, which establishes occupational relevance.

Not established

  • The current RL take-home guide's contents and edition. The linked Policies & Bylaws page returned an unauthorized response when checked, and the public RL exam-request page does not expose the guide.
  • Any numeric score, percentage, or section threshold.
  • The number of questions or the number of exam domains in the current examination.
A note on the "five domains": You will see five topic names on this site. They come from a historical RL-specific supplemental description recovered from a 2014 landman career guide, not from a current official blueprint. The count of five describes those supplied preparation topics only; it does not state that the current examination has five scored domains, and no official weights exist for them.

The Real Gates Between You and the Credential

Since no public cut score exists, the requirements you can control are the ones that decide whether you earn the credential. Most candidates stall at eligibility and paperwork rather than on the examination itself. The full breakdown lives in our RL requirements guide, but the essentials are below.

Eligibility gates

  • Current Active Membership in AAPL. Active Membership itself requires a four-year degree or four years of continuous work as a land professional, a membership sponsor, and an ethics agreement.
  • Current landwork. The credential is for working landmen.
  • One certification sponsor who holds an RPL or CPL certification, plus an application affidavit. The sponsor normally must have known you for at least six months, with a limited Board-sponsor exception.

Notably, RL has no additional fixed credit-year or degree requirement beyond what Active Membership already demands, and no one-year membership waiting requirement.

Money and timing gates

ItemAmount or window
Application feeUSD 150
Active Membership duesUSD 200 annually
Annual RL recertification feeUSD 25
Examination return window45 days from dispatch
Application materials completion window120 days
Committee review guidanceSix to eight weeks (general)

For a complete cost picture, including how these items add up over time, see RL Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. For timing mechanics, our RL exam dates and deadlines guide explains how the windows interact.

Five Historical Preparation Topics to Master

Without a published blueprint, the most defensible way to prepare is to master the core knowledge areas that Registered Landman candidates have historically been pointed toward, while treating the actual guide you receive as the final authority. These five topics come from the historical RL supplemental description and align with what current AAPL landwork pages say the profession covers. Our RL exam domains guide goes deeper on each.

Domain 1: Real property law

The foundation of landwork. You should be comfortable with how ownership interests are structured and divided.

  • Surface versus mineral estates and how they separate
  • Fee simple, life estates, and co-tenancy concepts
  • Easements, rights-of-way, and encumbrances

Domain 2: Contract law

Landwork runs on agreements. Expect to reason about how contracts form, bind, and fail.

  • Offer, acceptance, and consideration
  • Interpretation of ambiguous terms and writings
  • Breach, remedies, and enforceability concerns

Domain 3: Oil and gas leases

The lease is the working document of the profession, so fluency here carries real weight in practice.

  • Core lease provisions such as term, royalty, and habendum language
  • Pooling, unitization, and continuous-development concepts
  • Lease maintenance, extension, and termination issues

Domain 4: Conveyancing

Transferring interests accurately and tracing them back through the record.

  • Deeds, assignments, and the instruments that move title
  • Reading a chain of title and spotting gaps or defects
  • Recording concepts and how priority is affected

Domain 5: Ethics

Professional conduct is central to AAPL membership and to the credential's ongoing maintenance requirements.

  • Duties to clients, landowners, and the profession
  • Conflicts of interest and honest dealing
  • The standards AAPL expects members to follow
Use these as a map, not a guarantee: These topics are supplemental preparation areas, not an official outline and not an exhaustive syllabus. When the actual take-home guide arrives after approval, follow its structure and instructions over anything you read here.

If you are building a reading plan around these areas, our RL study guide maps resources to each topic, and the RL cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts into one page.

Score Myths to Ignore

Because the number everyone wants does not exist publicly, misinformation fills the gap. Watch for these.

  • "You need 70% (or 75%, or 80%) to pass." No such RL figure has been verified. Percentages like these are commonly borrowed from other exams.
  • "The exam is two hours with a proctor." That describes a different delivery model. For RL, the verified feature is a 45-day take-home return window.
  • "Each section has a minimum score." No numeric section thresholds have been established for RL.
  • "There is an exam registration fee." AAPL states there is no separate examination registration or additional exam fee. Your cost is the application fee plus required membership.
  • "The pass rate is X%." We do not publish a figure we cannot source. See our pass rate analysis for what is and is not known.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the 45-Day Window

Because the clock starts at dispatch, the smartest preparation happens before the guide arrives. Use the six-to-eight-week committee review period to build baseline fluency, then use the 45 days to work carefully through the actual materials. Here is one way to sequence it, tied to the five topic areas.

Before dispatch

Build the foundation

  • Review real property law first, since leases and conveyances both depend on it
  • Refresh contract law, focusing on interpretation of written agreements
Early window

Work the lease and title material

  • Read oil and gas lease provisions against sample clauses from your own landwork
  • Practice tracing a chain of title and noting defects (conveyancing)
Final stretch

Ethics and review

  • Read the AAPL code of ethics and apply it to realistic scenarios
  • Proofread every answer and return well before day 45

Real property law comes first because it is the vocabulary everything else uses. Ethics sits at the end so it stays fresh and so you can sanity-check every earlier answer against professional standards. Do not leave submission to the last day; a mailing or portal problem on day 45 is an avoidable risk.

Key Takeaway

Treat the 45-day window as a quality-control period, not a cram session. Your goal is thorough, accurate, well-supported answers submitted comfortably early, rather than a rushed finish against a deadline.

After Approval: Keeping the Credential

Earning the credential is only part of the commitment. RL maintenance is annual and straightforward, and it shapes whether the effort pays off. To stay current you need five industry-related AAPL-approved education credits, the USD 25 recertification fee, current landwork, Active Membership in good standing, and continued adherence to ethics standards.

Whether the investment is worthwhile depends on your career path. Our ROI analysis of the RL certification weighs the costs above against career considerations, and the RL salary guide looks at earnings context without inventing figures. If you want to see the kinds of roles that value the credential, browse our overview of RL jobs.

Ready to test your working knowledge of the core topic areas before your guide arrives? Try the free practice questions on the RL Exam Prep practice test site, and revisit the main practice hub as you move through each topic.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the RL exam?

No numeric passing score has been verified from current AAPL sources. The RL examination is a take-home learning examination supplied after approval, and AAPL's public pages describe eligibility, fees, and the 45-day return window without publishing a cut score or percentage.

How long do I have to complete the RL exam?

You must complete and return the examination within 45 days of dispatch. This is a submission window, not a timed seat duration, so you work at your own pace within that period. Application materials have a separate 120-day completion window.

Is there a separate fee to take the RL exam?

No. AAPL states that no separate examination registration or additional exam fee is required. The costs are the USD 150 application fee, the required USD 200 annual Active Membership dues, and the USD 25 annual recertification fee once certified.

Do the RPL or CPL passing scores apply to RL?

No. The RPL and CPL examinations have their own topic lists and delivery details, and none of those should be applied to Registered Landman. The RL credential has no verified numeric threshold, timer, or proctoring format that matches them.

What should I study if there is no official blueprint?

Focus on the core landwork areas: real property law, contract law, oil and gas leases, conveyancing, and ethics. These come from a historical supplemental description and match current AAPL landwork descriptions, but your actual take-home guide, once you receive it, is the authoritative source for what to cover.

Ready to pass your RL exam?

Put this into practice with free RL questions across every exam domain.